Shanghai’d Day 1

by

Photo by Jakob Montrasio

Arrived last night in the hazy, warm early evening vowing to not go straight to bed  (which my body was telling me to do after a 10 hour flight and 15 hour time change). I was last in Shanghai in 1999 and my has it changed. Apparently it now homes 20+ million people, 1+ million of those are ex-pats and it has grown skyward at a dizzying rate.

I’m here on a rather whirlwind tour visiting 3 factories we work with manufacturing tote bags. I’m here to meet factory management and  work with them on the status of corrective action plans coming from a series of social compliance audits we did earlier this year. And schedule permitting, I’ll be adding updates, photos and videos of the week as I go.

While I was immediately hit with the modern cosmo flair of the city at dinner & drinks last night – it was a rude reminder of where I am when I realized I can’t log into Facebook, Twitter, etc. – it seems that last summer in advance of Tianamen Square anniversary, most social media access was blocked by the Chinese goverment (will see if this post loads, WordPress is on that list).

Tags: , , , , , , ,

4 Responses to “Shanghai’d Day 1”

  1. ziff Says:

    missing you at the ranch!

  2. Jensen Says:

    I actually enjoyed reading through this article.Thank you.

  3. Brian Says:

    Great post. Looking forward to seeing you write a lot more about this topic.

  4. voyance Says:

    Est-ce que je peux placer un lien vers votre blog sur mon blog ? Merci.

Leave a Reply

